September 30, 2005

The Honorable Marion Blakey Administrator Federal Aviation Administration 800 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20591

Dear Administrator Blakey:

We are writing to urge the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) delay implementation of plans to turn functions of Flight Service Stations over to a private company until Congress completes the Fiscal Year (FY) 2006 appropriations process. As FY 2005 comes to a close, it is important that any funds used to implement the privatization plan are directly appropriated by Congress.

The House of Representatives has already weighed in against privatizing Flight Service Station operations through the FY 2006 Transportation Appropriations Bill. On June 30, 2005, the House of Representatives rejected the FAA's proposal by approving an amendment, by an <u>overwhelming bipartisan vote of 238 to 177</u>, to prohibit the FAA from spending funds on the privatization plan. The Senate has yet to consider the FY 2006 Transportation Appropriations Bill.

General aviation pilots depend on Flight Service Stations to provide weather briefings, temporary flight restrictions, emergency information, and aid in search and rescue. Flight Service Station Specialists use their expertise of regional weather, landscape, and flight conditions to ensure pilots reach their destinations safely. Their work has kept general aviation running smoothly and has literally saved lives.

The Federal Aviation Administration's proposal to privatize Flight Service Stations will lead to decreased safety for pilots of small planes because they will no longer be talking to personnel familiar with regional weather and topography. The consolidated system will strain service capability because fewer employees will be responsible for a growing system of general air traffic.

The proposed plan will be especially harmful to rural areas that more heavily rely upon smaller aircraft. Whether moving products and services as part of the global economy, or shepherding sick patients for medical care, communities require a basic air infrastructure network. By ensuring that Flight Service Stations can continue to serve all areas, general aviation pilots will continue to be able to serve regions that may otherwise not have service.

Accordingly, we request that the FAA delay implementation of plans to turn Flight Service Stations functions over to a private company until Congress finalizes the FY 2006 budget. While the FAA intends to shift these government employees over to private control as soon as October 2005, it is important that this transition is not implemented until the Senate can consider the privatization of Flight Service Stations.

According to the FAA Director of Competitive Sourcing, the net cost of stopping this transition prior to October 1 would be approximately \$5 million. If the FAA proceeds on October 3 and is subsequently directed by Congress to suspend or reverse implementation, it could mean significant additional expenses to the FAA. For these reasons, we request that you delay the implementation of this transition until the bill is signed into law. Your prompt action on this request is appreciated.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Herseth Member of Congress Bernard Sanders Member of Congress

John Hostettler Member of Congress James Oberstar Member of Congress

Mike Rogers (AL) Member of Congress Dan Boren Member of Congress

Frank LoBiondo Member of Congress Rosa DeLauro Member of Congress

Christopher Shays Member of Congress Carolyn Kilpatrick Member of Congress Tom Latham Member of Congress Ben Chandler Member of Congress

K. Michael Conaway Member of Congress Dennis Kucinich Member of Congress

Barbara Cubin Member of Congress Marion Berry Member of Congress

Rob Simmons Member of Congress John Tanner Member of Congress

Michael Turner Member of Congress Madeleine Bordallo Member of Congress

Michael Simpson Member of Congress Frank Pallone Member of Congress

Nancy Johnson Member of Congress Gary Ackerman Member of Congress

Phil English Member of Congress Emanuel Cleaver Member of Congress Carolyn McCarthy Member of Congress Neil Abercrombie Member of Congress

Timothy Bishop Member of Congress

Michael Michaud Member of Congress

Brian Higgins Member of Congress Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Raul Grijalva Member of Congress John Larson Member of Congress

Donald Payne Member of Congress Steve Israel Member of Congress

Stephen Lynch Member of Congress Eliot Engel Member of Congress

Jim McDermott Member of Congress Mark Udall Member of Congress

Hilda Solis Member of Congress Tom Lantos Member of Congress Jim Matheson Member of Congress Tim Ryan Member of Congress

Janice Schakowsky Member of Congress William Lacy Clay Member of Congress

Linda Sanchez Member of Congress Robert Brady Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress Collin Peterson Member of Congress

Michael Honda Member of Congress Robert Menendez Member of Congress

Maxine Waters Member of Congress Howard Berman Member of Congress

Tom Allen Member of Congress Loretta Sanchez Member of Congress

Nick Rahall Member of Congress